Just Before the Budget Session, the Government Denotified 19 New Degree Colleges, 4 Institutes of Kangra

Just-before-budget-session,-government-denotified-19-new-degree-colleges 1

Following the cabinet decision, Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu’s government has denotified 19 degree colleges opened in the last months of the BJP government.

A notification in this regard was issued by the Education Secretary on Friday. A total of 23 degree colleges were opened after April 2022 in the Jairam government.

According to the notification issued by Education Secretary Abhishek Jain, 19-degree colleges have been denotified.

These include Degree College Swarghat and Balhsina in Bilaspur District, Degree College Mashrund in Chamba District, Degree College Galod and Lamblu in Hamirpur District, Degree College Baranda, Kotla, Ridkmar and Chadhiar in Kangra District, Degree College Pangana, Pandoh and Baga Chanaugi in Mandi District.

Apart from this, Degree College Jalog and Sanskrit College Singla have been denotified in Shimla district.

Degree College Staun in the Sirmour district is now closed. Degree colleges Mamlig, Chandi and Baruna have been closed in Solan district. Whereas the Sanskrit college opened in Jagatsukh of Kullu has also been denotified.

Just-before-budget-session,-government-denotified-19-new-degree-colleges 1

Altogether, 17 degree colleges and 2 Sanskrit colleges have been denotified as per the new orders.

Of the newly opened colleges, 5 had 0 admissions. This means that only 4 of the colleges opened in the Jairam government have survived.

These include Nohradhar in Sirmour district, Kupvi in Shimla district, Banikhet Degree College in Chamba district and Chhatri Degree College in Siraj of former Chief Minister Jairam Thakur.

Assistant professors from denotified colleges will be transferred in a day or two. The teachers who were posted on deputation are being transferred back to the old college. The cabinet had taken a decision in this regard only last week.